top of page

What Living in London has Taught Me about Myself


Hey there!


Today marks two years of me being a Londoner and boy has it been a whirlwind! I thought to commemorate the twenty-four months of living in the city of double-deckers and red phone booths I'd write a little post of the things I've learned during this time.


Living in London has been wonderful, albeit an emotional rollercoaster ride. I had planned to move to London the year after graduating from Aberystwyth University (that's in Wales) but ended up using my savings to go travel around the US of A for a month back in 2016. And looking back it was the best decision I made, as I don't think how well I'd do being a young 22-year-old venturing out to London on my own not really knowing how tough it was going to be.


When I got back from my trip I spent another two years working in a job I loved, moved out of my parents' house, and just lived my adult life. Then, at the beginning of 2018, I decided: it's now or never. I saved up some more money and then handed in my three-month notice in June, booked a flight for October 2nd, and then it was just a waiting game.


Expectations vs Reality of Moving to London...


The first month living in London was filled with both amazing moments and some really crappy ones. A true expectation vs reality moment...


I'd done a little bit of research and had a look at SpareRoom to try and gauge the cost of living in London and what sort of rooms were available. I thought it was easy, just stroll into the first one you like and go "that's my home". Well, the reality is a little different and it took me a whole month, dozens of rejections and way too many tube trips across all of zone two until I found "the one".


And it really was the one, for about six months until all the flatmates I liked had moved out and I ended up with three people I really did not get along with. The vibes were all off but I thought I'd stick it out, hoping they'd move out. They didn't. Long story short, after living in a semi-hostile environment for too many months I decided at the beginning of the COVID-19 Pandemic to start looking for a new place. After some more issues, I finally moved into my new flat which at this moment in time definitely feels like the one.



I said living in London is wonderful, albeit the emotional rollercoaster and these two moments have really been the worst when I've felt like completely give up and spent several days and nights crying on the phone to my family wanting to come "home". And while they freakin' sucked at the time in hindsight they've made me stronger.


While I was planning this post I wrote a list of topics I wanted to cover and ended up with a pessimistic look on living in London so I have decided to completely scrap that list and only write positive things. While it sometimes sucks to live miles away from your family (who live in a different country) and that constant feeling of being slightly anxious about losing your job or place to live there are so many wonderful things about being in one of your favourite cities.


So while I've had my downer talking about my issues with housing lets move on to the fun stuff!


Living in London is a Dream Come True


My first day as a Londoner started just how I wanted it - with an event. I had managed to grab a ticket for a book signing with one of my favourite artists, Gary Barlow. I met up with my fellow Gary fans and had the perfect evening. Having only ever lived in Sweden where nothing fun ever happens and in Aberystwyth which is literally as far away from civilisation you can get, it's fun to live in London where things are always happening.


As a film and TV geek, fangirl if you may, I am thriving living in London (or was until COVID hit and everything got canceled). I have met some of my favourite actors, been to some really cool events and premieres, been able to spontaneously book a gig for the o2 the same night, and decide on the spot whether or not to go see a West End show. This is exactly what I dreamt of when I first started thinking about moving to London. I wanted to be in the city where it happens.



While it doesn't always feel like a Hollywood film it really does sometimes feel like I'm living inside a dream. Since moving at the beginning of April to a much more central apartment I catch myself walking past Buckingham Palace like it's nobody's business and then realise - I am literally neighbours with the Queen! Like, how did that happen?


I guess sometimes you just have to let yourself float up among the clouds and live the dream until your alarm clock rings at 5 am on a Saturday and you have to reign yourself in and remember that this is real life and you have work at seven.


It's the People that make London


I feel that everyone always says that it is the people that make a place, they create the vibes and make a place unique, and that is exactly how I feel about London. I have had the luxury to get to work in one of the coolest places in London with co-workers from all around the world who also happen to be the kindest and most creative people I've ever met.


Through work, I have also met some incredible creatives who are willing to help me fulfill my aspirations of being a filmmaker. The opportunities in this city are endless and I'm hoping that we get back to some sort of normality in the next year so I can get my foot in the door and continue working on my career.


One of the best things about living in London too is that everyone seems to end up coming to visit whether they're down on holiday and meet up for a bite to eat or come down to visit me there's always someone in town! I love taking my friends on my best walking routes, showing them the best sides of London and my favourite hidden gems.


Living in London has also made me branch out to meet new people, whether that be other bloggers and content creators who I hang out with and do photoshoots with or be it actually meeting up with guys from dating apps... I've actually become more social and I like it!


So, if you're reading this and want a free little walking tour or even just a photoshoot: let me know and we'll organise something.


London has Something for Everyone


Before moving to the big smoke I spent a lot of weekends coming to London for concerts, meeting up with people, or just for some good old touristing. London really has something for everyone and it takes some time to find your own groove.


I personally love hanging around zone one, exploring the little gems that are tucked away behind the big tourist attractions, walking along Oxford Street, going to the cinema in Leicester Square, and hoping to run into some mega-famous celebrities (which never happens).


If there's one thing that London has truly changed about me it's that I now truly enjoy walking. I used to despise walking, I'd even take the bus one stop if it saved me from walking 10 minutes, but now I will more often than not choose to walk rather than take the tube. There are so many amazing parks to stroll through and the South Bank is one of my most favourite places to walk.


I also used to not be into theatre and musicals, but last year I think the West End was one of my most frequently visited places. I saw some fantastic shows including Cyrano de Bergerac with James MacAvoy, Betrayal with Tom Hiddleston, Waitress, and Come From Away to name a few. While theatre can be seen to be quite highbrow it doesn't have to be too expensive. Most of the time I use the TodayTix app and get cheap rush tickets never paying more than £25 for really good seats. A fun way to get out to the theatre and do something a little different to what you'd otherwise do on a Tuesday night.



My top 5 Favourite things to do in London:

  1. Walk in the parks. Regent's Park and Greenwich Park are my faves and they have some spectacular views.

  2. See a West End show. Spontaneous trips to the theatre are always the one!

  3. Markets on a Sunday. London has an array of markets to choose from and they're always good fun.

  4. Try new foods. Be it street food or a café there's always something new to try in the big city.

  5. Go to events. My favourite pastime is breathing the same air as some of my favourite creators and London really is the best place for that!


Whether you like mooching around shops, strolling through parks, or going to every event possible London is the city for you. And if you'd rather spend your time anywhere but zone 1 there's so much more to fall in love with!


So, what's next?


I sometimes wonder what's next on my list of places to live and while I would love more than anything to go live in New York that seems too far away and too unrealistic (because of US immigration laws). I also wonder if I should move elsewhere in the UK and the only other place I can see myself living is in Edinburgh but London is the place to be for the career I want.


For now, I am staying in London unless unforeseen circumstances force me to leave, and I'm honestly really happy to be a Londoner.


These past two years have taught me a lot. I've always been really independent so packing up and moving to a different country on my own was never weird but since moving here I've realised that people are really important to have a fulfilling life. I've also learned a lot about hardship and that not everything comes easy in life and for someone who's always seemed to have an easy life it came as quite a shock. But most importantly living in London has made me stronger and more resilient. And for once I actually feel like an adult!


So yeah. Here's to the two years that have been and gone you have served me so well and I'm a stronger person than I was at the end of 2018. I look forward to many more years living in London and I will update you guys again in a few years to see what has changed in my life since!


bottom of page