top of page

EASY NO-BAKE CHOCOLATE TREATS

Craving chocolate cake? Don't want to bake or perhaps you just want a treat that's quick to prepare? Well, this traditional recipe for Swedish chocolate balls is the one for you! You don't need to use any heat and they'll be ready to eat in just 15 minutes, so get excited because this is going to be yummy!

During the COVID-19 lockdown, I wanted to bake something that was quick and easy and didn't require too much work.

I love, love, love these Swedish chocolate balls or "kokosbollar" as they're called in Sweden. I used to make these as a kid but haven't made them in over a decade. During the COVID-19 lockdown, I wanted to bake something that was quick and easy and didn't require too much work. So I thought why not make the super-easy no-bake chocolate treats that store well and I can enjoy them throughout the week. And that's exactly what I did! I also filmed a tutorial on how to make them which you can watch here.


While there are so many no-bake treats out there I must admit that these are the best. They're not too sugary and they're just the perfect bitesize for an afternoon delight or even as a snack to go. Pop them in a container and put it in the fridge and they'll always be the perfect temperature and texture.


Not only are these super easy to make they are the perfect first-bake for kids and once they know how to make them they won't need supervision as there's no baking, no heating up, and no using any sharp knives or tools. And if you're making them for kids you can skip the coffee! So if you are looking for something that the kids can bake without your help then I highly recommend trying these.


When I say that these are easy to make I mean it. There's no need to put the stove or oven on and don't even think about using the microwave. All you do is throw all the ingredients in a box mixing bowl and then it's time to get your hands dirty.


Because you'll be rolling the mixture into small balls it's best to actually mix all the ingredients together with your hands than with a spatula or electronic mixer. And then when you've rolled all the balls you can lick your fingers and taste all that chocolatey goodness!


These no-bake chocolate treats are best served after they've been in the fridge but trust me when I say that you'll be picking at the mixture while rolling the balls. So if you're like me I'd recommend making a double batch as you'll end up eating half the mixture during the process, they're that good.


So here we are. These are all the things you will be needing and the five super simple steps you need to make these tasty no-bake chocolate balls. Enjoy!


Ingredients:

100g Butter

1dl Sugar

3dl Oats

2 tbsp Cacao Powder

1 tsp Vanilla Sugar / 3ml Vanilla Extract

2 tbsp Cold Coffee

Desiccated coconut


Method:

  1. Measure all ingredients into a large mixing bowl.

  2. Mix all the ingredients with your hands until combined.

  3. Roll the mixture in your hands into small balls.

  4. Roll the balls in desiccated coconut and put them on a plate to the side.

  5. Place all coconut covered balls in the fridge to set.

  6. Enjoy!



bottom of page