top of page

Finding the Perfect London Flat on a Budget

So you've decided to move to London but like many others, you're not making a fortune so have to live on a strict budget while enjoying the stunning capital. Do not worry my friend because London is incredible whether you are stinking rich or like me, working a part-time job, and have a limited amount of funds.


As part of my series about Living in London on a Budget, I'm today going to take you through what to think about when choosing where to live in London. While Instagram and Pinterest often tell you that Kensington and Chelsea are the places to live you might want to reconsider the idea of a picturesque terrace townhouse and perhaps opt for a less pretty facade in a less-central area which would better suit your budget.


I moved to London in 2018 and it took me a month to find my first flat where I stayed until March 2020. During my two stints of flat-hunting in London, I learned quite a lot. What areas I like and those I don't, how much I'm willing to stretch my budget, and that I really don't want to live further than a 5-minute walk from the nearest tube stop. The latter comes from being able to see the tube station from my first London flat. I now live 10 minutes from the nearest tube but I'm also very central so haven't been down the underground since March and can't think of the next time I will.


Finding the perfect flat in London can at times seem to be an oxymoron and you will most likely have to compromise at least one of your 'must-haves' or 'must not haves'. If we all had unlimited funds then finding the perfect flat would be as simple as, but I guess you're reading this post to find out how to find the perfect flat in London while on a budget. When I say "flat" I do want to point out that I'm talking about flat-shares because there is no way I would ever be able to afford my own flat at this point in my life.


So let's start there, your budget.

When I first decided I was going to move to London I set my budget to £850 with bills and I almost decided to sign on to a flat where the room was £850 (without bills!). After looking around and hearing what other people were paying I decided to lower my budget a little and I'm so glad I did that.


If you haven't got a job yet I recommend looking at what the entry-level pay would be for the jobs you're looking for. Say you're working in retail, you'll be paid roughly £9-10 an hour, working full-time that would leave you with £1400-1500 before tax. You will not want to be paying more than a third of your income on your rent+bills so you'd be looking at somewhere around the £500-600 mark. If you are willing to sacrifice more of your income you will definitely be able to get something nicer but the rooms that go for £600 are quite decent. My first flat was around £700 with bills and my current place is £620.


Once you've decided on your budget don't go over it!


The second most important thing to consider is your Distance To Work.

London is a BIG city and while commutes around the hour mark aren't uncommon you want to try to avoid long commutes with multiple changes. If you have a job already you want to look at what tube lines or bus routes that are directly from your place of work and then start looking around those areas.


You also need to consider if you rent+bills+travel expense is going to be worth it. Perhaps you find a cheap place in zone 4 that fits the bill but then you need to pay £194 for your travel to your job in Zone 1, perhaps moving closer to zone 2 but and paying £50 more in rent might be a better option as it will cut down your commute time but not cost you anything more.


Live where you feel Safe

As a woman living in a city like London, you will always consider where you feel safe. During my first time looking for flats I was doing all of my flat viewings in October so it got dark quickly so it was easy to get a feel of the area when it's dark. There was one viewing I was meant to go to where I arrived at it smelled like weed literally everywhere, that didn't really bother me but what put me off it was when I saw a man look over his shoulder as he was running away from something. I turned on the spot and never went to the viewing.


The second time around I was in Finsbury Park where the area around the station and the road to the flat was just filled with men and I didn't feel safe, not even during the day. I absolutely loved the flat I was viewing but I knew I wouldn't want to walk home alone in the evenings so I gave it a pass.


If you're going to viewings during the day make sure you come back in the evening just to feel it out, and walk around the neighbourhood and don't just look at the flat.

Speaking of the Neighbourhood

You don't just want to feel safe where you live you also want to enjoy it. Are you someone who likes running you might want to consider somewhere that's got a good park to run in or if you're an avid bruncher you want a neighbourhood with lots of food options.


Take a little tour around the area, do some research what's around and make sure it's not too far from your local shop as those chocolate cravings can come at any time and you don't want to have to hop on a bus to get it!


I've now lived in two different flats in different areas of London and I've loved both of them. Clapham South was great as it had the big Common for running and sunbathing, lots of little cafes and shops so I didn't even really have to go into the city to still feel I was in town, and it was safe. Where I live now is 30 minutes walking to work, I live really centrally, and it's definitely within my budget. I currently only work 20 hours a week so barely make £1000 and paying my £620 rent. However, I don't have to get on public transport so saving £140 on that which is a bonus!


You may have to compromise...

Whether you like it or not you will most likely have to compromise on something. The first place I live I had to compromise a quiet area as I lived right above a pub on the main road in Clapham. It was noisy but I had a huge room with lots of light, it was within my budget, I liked the area, and it was super close to the tube!


My current place doesn't have a living room but I didn't spend much time in my previous living room so it doesn't really matter too much to me, still a compromise though.


There are a few things I refuse to compromise and the first is safety and cleanliness. Not only do I want to feel safe in the area I also want to feel safe with the people I live with, so meeting the flatmates is super important! I also don't want a place that's covered in mold. Granted it's near impossible to find a bathroom in the UK that isn't slightly infested with mold but that is a fact you just have to accept.


Make a list of things you would like your flat to have and then a list of things that you really will not compromise on and make sure you stick with it because this is going to be your home and you don't want it to be somewhere you don't enjoy being.


So, things to consider when trying to find the perfect flat-share in London:

  1. Make your budget and stick to it.

  2. Don't live too far away from work because commuting sucks.

  3. Have a mooch around the area where you're looking just to feel out the neighbourhood.

  4. Live somewhere that suits your lifestyle.

  5. What are the things you can compromise?

I hope you have an easy flat-hunting experience and that this post has helped! Happy flat hunting!


bottom of page