top of page

Delicious Blackberry Pie & The Art of Slow Living

Hey there!


In August I hopped on a plane from London to Sweden to spend some time at home despite the ongoing pandemic. It turned out to be the best decision I've made all year and to your advantage, I have now written this post to tell you about the most delicious homemade blackberry pie I baked with blackberries I picked myself!


But before I get into the recipe I just wanted to tell you a little about why I spent a couple of hours picking these delicious berries.

Since the 70s my family has owned a summer house out in the middle of the Swedish forest. It was originally my grandparents' and the had bushes upon bushes of red and black currants. They turned the currants into wine which I never really had the opportunity to try because I was a mear youngling. I have since found a bottle and gave it a taste but it wasn't the greatest (it was a couple of years old...).


Since my mum and aunt took over the cottage a decade ago there's been no wine made but every summer we pic litres upon litres of berries of all sorts. A few years ago I made my own black currant juice and red currant cakes which are my faaaavourite.


A picture of blackberry bushes. Green leaves in the foreground with the berries in a varying shades of black and dark red.
Blackberry bushes at the top of the image with two buckets in the middle in front of the bush, one orange and one white. At the bottom are two legs with feet in grey wellington boots.
An image of a blonde girl (me) wearing a straw hat with the text "Lloret de Mar", and a white and yello stripey tshirt and blue denim jeans. I am smiling towards the camera with my long blonde hair hanging down as I reach for a blackberry.

This year however I wanted to try something different.


When I was little all I wanted to do was do something. Didn't really matter what it was as long as it was an activity that didn't involve being still.


Flash forward to present day and I'm a twenty-seven-year-old who really enjoys doing nothing. So I spent a few days all on my own out in the forest and practice the art of slow living.


What is slow living you might wonder?


It is essentially a lifestyle where instead of counting down the minutes you savour every moment, being conscious and at ease.


I took day by day and didn't waste them. I was barely online trying to keep my screentime at a minimal and just enjoyed life. I went on hikes, went for multiple swims in the lake, barbecued, and read.



Another thing I did was pick blackberries.


I was a little late in the season so my aunt had already picked most of the currants and raspberries but that didn't leave me empty-handed as I spent a few hours listening to podcasts and picking blackberries.


It was one of those moments where you feel completely at ease with yourself and the world. At that moment everything was perfect.


And what was to come was even more perfect.


I had my harvest, almost six litres of delicious blackberries and no plan on what to do with them. Most of them I picked for my mum and now they have a comfortable place in her freezer with only their future ahead of them.


But I wanted to make something, so I did a quick google and found this recipe by LjuvMagnolia and I just had to try it because it was so easy!


If you have never tried slow living ora blackberry crumble pie then I highly recommend both of them! And when you think you've poured enough custard on your pie you just know you gotta keep going. The ratio should always be more custard than pie.


Easy Blackberry Crumble Pie Recipe

Crumble:

250g cold butter

1 1/2dl sugar

1 1/2dl desiccated coconut

2 1/2dl flour

1 1/2dl oats


Filling:

1 1/2 litre blackberries

1 dl sugar

2 tbsp cornstarch


Method:


Put the oven on 200ºC.


Cut the butter into small pieces and pinch it together with the sugar, coconut, and flour until it's a crumbly dough. Carefully combine the oats without breaking the flakes.


Mix the berries with the sugar and cornstarch and spread it into a buttered pie form. Crumble the dough on top and bake it in the middle of the over for ~25 minutes.


Serve with cold custard.

A picture of the finished blackberry crumble pie. The pie is in the top left corner and a floral plate with a dessert fork on top can be seen in the bottom right corner. The table is decorated with a grey and white runner and some leaves.
Another picture of the blackberry crumble pie. This time the pie is in the background out of focus. in the foreground we see a ready made vanilla custard in a yellow Tetra-Pak with Swedish writing.
Another flatlay of the blackberry crumble pie. The pie can now be foundin the bottom right with the plate now in the top right. On the left we find the vanilla custard packaging again. All items are on top of the grey and white table runner.

Did this post tickle your fancy? Why not share it with the people!






bottom of page