top of page

20 Best Rom-Coms of All Time

Perhaps it's the fact that I was ghosted by a guy I'd been seeing just before lockdown happened or it's just the boredom of being single that has me binge-watching romantic comedies. Regardless of why this is I'm happy I'm in this mood because while they definitely make me feel even more sorry for myself for being the most single pringle in London, they're incredibly feel-good films.


My love for films is long-winded but the love I have for rom-coms knows no limits. They're the best go-to films and while they can be incredibly cheesy and sometimes just outright awful there are some gems out there.


As research for this post, I've been re-watching and watching for the first time the top-rated rom-coms and also asked my twitter followers their favourites.


After two weeks of research and watching rom-coms, we are today going to determine the TWENTY BEST ROM-COMS of ALL TIME. Yup, I'm deciding this now. Once this post has been written it's the law and nothing can change it.



So, without further ado, here are the 20 best rom-coms of all time. In no particular order.


The Holiday

Hands-down the best Christmas film out there. It has everything you want from a romantic comedy, it's cozy as heck, got cute couples, and it ends happily. I look forward to seeing The Holiday every year, especially that bit when Jude Law puts his glasses on in the morning, oof!


The Proposal

This might be the funniest film of the lot. Perhaps a surprising match but Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds truly hit it off and are really sexy together. It's got some great comedy, the romance is there, and so is Betty White to top it all off!


You've Got Mail

I watched this for the first time just before writing this blogpost, it essentially inspired this post. I love Tom Hanks, he's the best actor out there, and his chemistry with Meg Ryan is just fantastic!


Notting Hill

Hugh Grant might actually be the king of rom-coms, he's in most of them and he does it SO well! Notting Hill is a classic and that transition through the seasons as he walks through Portobello Road Market has attracted thousands of fans to come to find the Blue Door!


Blonde girl in braids wearing sunglasses and smiling. Dressed in a white t-shirt with the text "still beautiful" and  blue denim shorts. Standing in front of the Blue Door from the Notting Hill film.


Can't Buy Me Love

One of my favourite films from the 80s! A young McDreamy pays a girl $1000 to pretend to be his girlfriend as he tries to gain fame at college. What on earth could go wrong? It's such a good film and his speech at the end is really relatable.


Love Actually

I can't write a blogpost about rom-coms without including Love Actually. Colin Firth falling in love with a Portuguese girl, Hugh Grant being the charming Prime Minister, and just the most Christmassy vibes! It's a must-watch at Christmas but it's so good I could definitely watch this all year round.


Mamma Mia

Meryl Streep, ABBA, Greece what more could you ask for? The greatest love story here is definitely Bill and Rosie but to be honest


Failure To Launch

I did some serious research for this post and Failure To Launch was one of these films I'd never really heard of but when I sat down to watch it I just fell in love. It's got Matthew McConnaughey and Sarah Jessica Parker so you know the acting is on par and the story was actually really good. 100% recommend this for your rom-com movie nights.


PS I Love You

Okay, you will cry. But it's still sort of a rom-com? It's got beautiful Irish scenery, great songs, and a love story that makes your heart all warm.



A photo of a screen showing two people, a man and woman, about to kiss. From a scene in the film P.S. I Love You.

Just Go With It

I just realised I hadn't added a single Jennifer Aniston film, blasphemy! She's defo the queen of rom-coms and always brings her A-game and while I'm not the biggest Adam Sandler fan I love this film. It's an easy watch and completely crazy scenario but that's what makes it so great!


Love & Other Drugs

Again, this will 100% make you cry but it's such a great and underrated film. Both Anne Hathaway and Jake Gyllenhaal are sexy as hell and the story is just incredibly beautiful.


Long Shot

This was the biggest surprise of the decade but Long Shot is an incredible film. Seth Rogan and Charlize Theron star in this rom-com where Theron's character hires Rogan, the kid she used to babysit, to be his speechwriter. Like any rom-com, they fall in love and the film is just fantastic!


Sleepless in Seattle

Tom Hanks & Meg Ryan are a dream team! I absolutely love this film, Nora Ephron definitely knows how to make the best rom-com! It's cozy, sweet, romantic, and it's got New York, what more could you ask for?


When Harry Met Sally

Another film I watched as part of the research for this post. I had never watched it before but knew about it because of the "I'll have what she's having" scene and let me tell you, I LOVED IT! The whole premise of them meeting up again and again after a few years before they actually become really close friends and then eventually falling in love. Such a beautiful love story which definitely had me thinking of any guys I've met in the past that I'd like to have the same story with, none came to mind though...


13 Going on 30

Probably the sweetest rom-com on the list. I love the innocence of this 13-year-old who wakes up in her 30-year-old body. And who knew Mark Ruffalo could be so dreamy?


How To Lose a Guy in 10 Days

If Hugh Grant is the rom-com king then Matthew McConaughey (spelled that correct first try!) is the rom-com prince. It's just something about his aura that makes you feel all relaxed. How To Lose a Guy is a classic that I actually hadn't watched until I was doing research for this post, and I'm poorer for it! Absolutely brilliant with some fantastic funny scenes and a beautiful romance that blooms.


Sex and the City

While the sequel is probably the worst rom-com of all time Sex and the City the movie is fantastic. I watched this before I had even seen the series and absolutely fell in love with Carrie's love story with Big. Having now watched the series I defo understand why people might be side-eyeing Carrie for actually staying with him. But in the sense of a rom-com, it's brilliant. It's got multiple storylines all around love and I just love the whole film. It's funny, romantic, and sexy, and oh so glamorous!


A black and white image of a computer screen where Carrie and Big from Sex and the City are kissing.


Enchanted

Another Patrick Dempsey film but we all know you're only here for Amy Adams who still hasn't won an Oscar?? Enchanted is my favourite Disney film, it's got the greatest films, and the love story is just magnificent!


The Back-Up Plan

Girl wants it all husband, babies, a beautiful house. But when the guy never comes around she decides to have a baby on her own. And then she meets the guy! J-Lo and Alex O'Loughlin make this fantastic paring and comedy and romance follow. I've rewatched this film a gazillion times and I never get bored!


Crazy, Stupid, Love

This isn't just my favourite rom-com it's one of my favourite films, ever. It's absolutely hilarious, Ryan Gosling takes his shirt off, and it's got one of the best twists ever!


There we have it, the 20 best rom-coms. Did I miss any of your favourites out? Let me know which is your favourite romantic comedy!






bottom of page